simple summer squash

I know leafy-greens are good for you. But I am not too fond of eating a bowl full of raw leaves. After a few minutes, I start feeling like a cow! In India, salad or salaad is more of an accompaniment to the meal. At my home, we eat sliced cucumbers, tomatoes, onions, kakdi, carrots, radishes, spring onions with mostly just a little salt. One exception is tomatoes..they get specially treated with a sprinkle of red chilli powder, crushed and roasted cumin seeds and a little sugar. yumm! Once in a while, I do enjoy a crunchy Caesar salad, but rest of the time I prefer salads without leaves 🙂

Here’s a recipe for making a quick and simple summer squash salad. I first saw this on Show Me the Curry. It has become my favorite thing to do with zucchini or yellow squash. I have modified it from Anuja and Hetal’s recipe, mostly by cutting down the list of ingredients. Here’s how I make it:

  1. Start by chopping the zucchini and/or yellow squash into 1/2 -inch thick pieces.
  2. Heat up a little oil and add black mustard seeds.
  3. Once the seeds stop spluttering, add the squash, salt and sprinkle a generous amount of lemon/lime juice.
  4. Cook for 1 min and turn off the heat. You don’t want the squash to lose its crunchiness.
  5. Immediately take it out of the pan to stop any further cooking.
  6. Enjoy once it has cooled down a little!

If you want, you can garnish with a few chopped cilantro leaves. You can also add a finely chopped green chilli (after the mustard seeds) if you are in the mood for a little heat. In my opinion, both these take away the spotlight from the squash and I prefer not to offend this beautiful summer vegetable 🙂  For the same reason, I wouldn’t advise using it as a side dish with an Indian meal.

You can eat this as a starter or just as an independent snack.

Leave a Reply

