keepsakes

A few things to remember Peru by.

The big one I bought from Cusco‘s central San Pedro market, from a really old man who spoke no English. And I speak no Spanish. But we managed to communicate, bargain and discuss Indian movies. The small one was sneaked out of the kitchen by the server at Jack’s Cafe because otherwise I was all set to steal the one that came with my meal. This is what their windowsill looked like.

On our first day in Cusco, my friend NaGo fainted because of altitude sickness, right outside the beautiful Granja Heidi restaurant in the San Blas neighborhood. It’s the place with the green and white sign in the picture below.

The really nice German couple who run this place let us stay for an hour in their cute storage room and gave NaGo some marigold tea in an enameled terracotta cup that had a strainer and a lid.

Of course, I had to buy one too. And mine has llamas painted on it!

I will drink this tea in it.

I also like drinking coffee. So, I bought some loose Quillabamba coffee from the market in Ollantaytambo.

The Sacred Valley region of Peru is famous for all the corn it grows. I brought back some really pretty looking pink-ish dry corn…

… and some orange-colored beans, purchased only because I had never seen orange-colored beans before!

Last, but not the least, a bar of cooking chocolate.

More Peru posts coming up very soon!

It’s good to be back 🙂

4 thoughts on “keepsakes

Leave a Reply

