carrot salad with roasted sesame powder

Despite what the last few posts might imply, this blog is really and truly about food. I know you don’t believe me. Even I don’t. I am not even consistent within a post. For example, in a post about a carrot salad, I’ll start by posting a picture of pears.

A few weeks ago I received an email from a friend of mine in London. It was sort of like a recipe chain letter. Every recipient is expected to forward it to 20 friends and send a recipe to one of the sender’s selected friends. This in turn ensures that you receive around 36 recipes (I haven’t done the math here) from people you might not know. I did take part and so far, have received three odd recipes. But one of them is a carrot salad from my friend P, of Olan fame.  She is, after all, the person who introduced any sort of grated carrot salad into my life, so I had to try this recipe of hers.

The basic premise is very similar to a regular grated carrot salad. But, there are two major differences: sesame seeds and tomatoes. The addition of roasted sesame powder adds a little warmth and creaminess to this salad, making it perfect for a picnic on a warm sunny winter’s day, for example. The tomatoes offer not just a different flavor and extra juiciness, but also give the salad some body. I have no qualms about saying that this is my new favorite salad. I just finished eating a huge bowl of it! Thanks, P!

Ingredients

  • Carrots
  • Tomatoes
  • Green chillies
  • Lime juice
  • Cilantro
  • White sesame seeds
  • Salt
  • Sugar
  • Oil
  • Urad dal
  • Black mustard seeds
  • Hing (asafoetida)
  • Whole dry red chillies

Method

  • Grate the carrots. De-seed and finely chop the tomatoes and the green chilli. I removed the pulpy membrane inside the tomatoes to prevent any sogginess.
  • Mix in lime juice, salt, and just a pinch of sugar.
  • Dry roast the sesame seeds on a REALLY low flame until they turn very light brown. Once they are a little cool, powder them. (Black sesame seeds should also be great here. Next time!)
  • Prepare the seasoning when you are ready to eat. This is how: heat a little oil on medium low flame. Once it’s hot, add a tiny dry red chilli and some mustard seeds and allow them to pop and splutter. Next add urad dal and a little hing. Be careful, you don’t want the dal to burn.
  • Combine the vegetables with roasted sesame seed powder, chopped coriander and the seasoning. (You can remove the whole chilli now, it has done its job.)
  • Adjust the seasonings and EAT!

Variations

Roasted peanut powder is a good substitute for sesame powder.

Have a good weekend!

5 thoughts on “carrot salad with roasted sesame powder

  1. I was a little confused by the pears, though the picture is rather good. This salad looks great and rather delicious. I love the funny dish/spoon thing it is served in, by the way.

  2. Thanks Anukriti ! glad you liked it 🙂 your photographs make it look quite delish.. although i have to ask as well .. what is the pear picture doing there (fantastic as it is) 🙂

  3. Puja! The pear picture was meant to make a point about inconsistency..ha ha! (and I really like it, so I would have posted it anyways!). I like the salad so much that I am going to make it again today! I couldn’t get enough of it yesterday.

  4. it IS a lovely photo .. actually looks like a painting – one of those still lifes. and to think that the background is the scratchy oven tray… amazing…

Leave a Reply

