we shall overcome

Even though I write a food blog (at least most of the time it is about food), I have several food phobias. And this is without even venturing into the egg, seafood and meat domain. Of course, most of these are things that I didn’t grow up with. So, that’s my excuse.

But, enough excuses! I have decided to challenge myself into giving them another honest shot. I will try to eat the most palatable versions of my no-no foods, at least twice. If I still don’t like them, may be I truly dislike them! This is what I am up against:

  1. Tofu, especially the soft, jiggly kind
  2. Artichokes
  3. Soy milk
  4. Beets
  5. Brussels sprouts
  6. Dill
  7. Mushrooms

So, dear readers, please wish me luck!

Update: I have been eating mushrooms and beginning to like the texture! Thank you so much for all the suggestions personally, in the Comments section as well as on Facebook.

7 thoughts on “we shall overcome

  1. Good luck! I was very frightened to eat any kind of seafood until 2 years ago. My father is severely allergic and I was told by a doctor that I was also severely allergic. Then I had an allergy test that uses blood samples instead of skin scratches and they told me I wasn’t allergic! I braved the danger and tried eating some fish at a sushi place. I was fine. Now I eat fish regularly, but I’m still not very interested in shellfish.

  2. Neal Barnard’s Breaking the Food Seduction has my favorite brownie recipe featuring silken tofu.

Leave a Reply

